Buying guide
Amazon Scout
By Amazon · sidewalk
- Price
- —
- Availability
- Discontinued.
- Maturity
- commercial
- Real-world use
- Yes, 2 verified deployments
Amazon Scout was Amazon's six-wheeled, cooler-sized autonomous sidewalk delivery robot, and the canonical sidewalk-delivery wind-down datapoint. Launched in January 2019 (first neighborhood in Snohomish County, Washington), it field-tested across four US markets, adding Irvine in Southern California in 2019 and Atlanta and Franklin, Tennessee in 2020. There is no consumer price, and the program is discontinued: on October 6, 2022 (first reported by Bloomberg), Amazon wound the program down, ending the customer-facing field tests and disbanding the dedicated field-test team while reassigning employees rather than conducting mass layoffs. It is recorded at commercial maturity to reflect its historical peak of live customer field tests, with a discontinued lifecycle state. It is the canonical sidewalk wind-down alongside FedEx's paused Roxo: a verified-vs-claimed contrast case of a giant's program reaching commercial field-test scale and then being discontinued while survivors such as Starship, Serve, and Coco continued, in the same spirit as the discontinued autonomous-truck legacies Embark and TuSimple. The figure of roughly 400 people who worked on Scout is Amazon's total-program headcount, with the reassignment-versus-exit split not disclosed, and the city-level specifics are partly inherited from launch coverage.
Readiness
Amazon Scout is discontinued, no capability claims are on file, 2 verified deployments are on file, and no incidents are on record.
- Availability
- discontinued
Discontinued.
- Price honesty
- no-price
No price points on file for Amazon Scout.
- Capability honesty
- no-claims
No reviewed capability claims on file for Amazon Scout.
- Real-world use
- commercial
Maturity: commercial. 2 verified deployments in the registry.
- Safety record
- no-incidents
No incidents on record. 2 verified deployments on file.
What it claims to do
No reviewed capability claims on file.
Price
No reviewed price points on file.
Real-world use
- United States operated by Amazon2019-01-23
- Seattle operated by Amazon2019-01-01
Safety record
No incidents on record. 2 verified deployments on file.
Privacy
No privacy practices disclosed or on file for Amazon Scout.
Specs
- notes
- Verified (the canonical sidewalk wind-down datapoint): Amazon Scout was Amazon's six-wheeled sidewalk delivery robot, field-tested across 4 US markets from Jan 2019. On Oct 6 2022 (Bloomberg first reported) Amazon wound it down: the customer-facing field-test program was discontinued, the dedicated field-test team disbanded (with employees reassigned/matched to other roles rather than mass layoffs). maturityStage=commercial (historical peak: live customer field tests across 4 markets); lifecycleState=discontinued (wound down 2022-10-06).
- Pivot/wind-down pattern: The canonical sidewalk-delivery wind-down, alongside FedEx Roxo (paused 2022). Verified-vs-claimed contrast case: a giant's program that reached commercial field-test scale then was discontinued, vs the survivors (Starship millions of deliveries, Serve, Coco) - same discipline as the discontinued truck legacies (Embark, TuSimple).
- Claimed but NOT verified (cap-flag): The '~400 team' is Amazon's/Bloomberg's total-program headcount figure; the reassignment-vs-exit split is not disclosed. The city-level specifics ('Irvine', 'Snohomish County') are well-established for the CA/WA sites but several wind-down articles only say 'Southern California' and 'Washington' - consistent but partly inherited from launch coverage.
- specs
- Amazon Scout: six-wheeled, cooler-sized autonomous sidewalk delivery robot. Launched Jan 2019 (first market Snohomish County WA). 4 US markets: Snohomish County WA (2019), Irvine / Southern California (2019), Atlanta GA (2020), Franklin TN (2020). Wound down announced Oct 6 2022 (field tests ended). ~400 people worked on Scout globally.
- max_speed
- 24 km/h
- weight_kg
- 45
- formFactor
- sidewalk (six-wheeled cooler-sized autonomous sidewalk delivery robot; DISCONTINUED)
- payload_kg
- 23
What's under the hood
No brain on file for Amazon Scout.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Amazon Scout actually available for purchase?
What does the Amazon Scout cost?
Where is the Amazon Scout being used?
Is the Amazon Scout safe?
How does the Amazon Scout handle privacy?
Who makes the Amazon Scout?
Video
Amazon footage of Scout, its sidewalk-delivery robot, from its test program. Scout was an open-world sidewalk-delivery device run with human chaperones; Amazon discontinued the program in 2022.
Manufacturer
Amazon (registry record: /companies/amazon)
Compare side by side
- Amazon Scout vs Cartken Courierby Cartken · sidewalk
- Amazon Scout vs Coco Botby Coco Robotics · sidewalk
Sources
- Amazon abandons Scout autonomous home-delivery robot (Oct 6 2022; first reported) · https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2022-10-06/amazon-abandons-autonomous-home-delivery-robot-in-latest-cut
- Amazon scales back Scout delivery-robot program (field tests ended; ~400-person team) · https://techcrunch.com/2022/10/07/amazon-scales-back-scout-delivery-robot-program/
- Amazon ends testing of Scout delivery robots (4 US markets) · https://www.therobotreport.com/amazon-ends-testing-of-scout-delivery-robots/
- Amazon scraps Scout home-delivery robot · https://www.freightwaves.com/news/amazon-scraps-scout-home-delivery-robot
- Meet Scout - Amazon official (program wound down ~Oct 2022; page live) · https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/transportation/meet-scout
- Amazon Scout · https://www.dimensions.com/element/amazon-scout
- About Amazon — Amazon Robotics fulfillment center coverage · https://www.aboutamazon.com/
- TechCrunch — next-generation fulfillment center coverage · https://techcrunch.com/
- Automate.org — Amazon Robotics surpasses one million systems deployed · https://www.automate.org/
- AWS Insider — The Rise of Amazon AI Robots · https://www.awsinsider.net/
- Jacobin — A Sober Look at Amazon's Automation Drive · https://jacobin.com/
- Supply Chain Exchange — Shreveport DC coverage · https://www.thescxchange.com/
- Metaintro — Amazon's 1 Million Robots (Fast Company investigation context) · https://metaintro.com/
- Amazon introduces new fulfillment robotics (Sequoia, Proteus) (official) · https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/operations/amazon-introduces-new-robotics-solutions
- Amazon tops 1 million robots; overview of its robot fleet (2025) · https://www.geekwire.com/2025/amazons-robot-workforce-hits-1-million-heres-what-they-all-do/
- Amazon tests its Sequoia system and Agility Robotics' Digit for fulfillment · https://www.mmh.com/article/amazon_tests_its_sequoia_system_and_agility_robotics_digit_for_fulfillment
- Amazon official YouTube (@AmazonNews), embedded under standard YouTube embed terms. oEmbed author_url verified 2026-06-04. · https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3cItZtGQEL8 · 2026-06-04
- Amazon Newsroom: Meet Amazon Scout (programme launch, 2019) · https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/transportation/meet-amazon-scout
- TechCrunch: Amazon is shutting down Scout delivery robot program, Aug 2022 · https://techcrunch.com/2022/08/18/amazon-scout-shutting-down/
- Last-Mile Delivery Robots Move Beyond the Testing Phase · https://www.thomasnet.com/insights/top-delivery-robot-companies/
Recent coverage
- Inside Amazon’s Elite Disaster Relief Team: How They Act FASTFreightWaves · 2026-07-08
- AI Chip Selloff Spreads Across Global Markets | Bloomberg Tech 7/07/2026Bloomberg Technology · 2026-07-07
- Amazon Fuels AI Debt Boom With Another Bond SaleBloomberg Technology · 2026-07-07
Keep reading
Ask the registry
Machine-readable: this page as markdown.
Canonical: https://deploy.report/models/amazon-scout